What are your nerd hobbies?

All things Rugby
Mog The Almighty

What are your nerd hobbies?

Post by Mog The Almighty »

I've got a f-cking stack of them. But I'll save the biggest one for last.

Firstly, I love mushrooms. I love going out in the forest and picking them, and recently I've started cultivating them at home. I'm looking forwards to a stack of King Oyster mushrooms over the winter.

Second, I started brewing Kombucha. I liked that a lot (and so does my girlfriend), so I splashed out and bought a bunch of stuff (wasn't even that expensive tbh) to start brewing mead too. (Mjöd in Swedish, it's a bit of a thing here because the Vikign used to make it).

Third, I love fly-fishing and I tie my own flies. I even wear nerdy magnifying goggles when I do it.

Now it gets really nerdy, I've always liked painting model soldiers - it's something I picked up from a friend when I was young, and I was really good at it and enjoyed it but never actually played any of the games (just seemed like too much effort).

But I took it to the next level last year. I mentioned it in another thread and was encouraged by a few other posters here, but a couple of guys and a couple of girls from the office last year talked me into joining their Dungeons & Dragons game, which I did, and I must admit, it was really good fun - although it got cut short before we could finish due to COVID. I think having girls in the group, and the fact that the youngest players are in their early thirties, made a big difference and made it better.

... edit: I'm also looking at buying an archery kit for myself for Christmas. :twisted:
backrow

Re: What are your nerd hobbies?

Post by backrow »

Probably for the best you don’t want kids
Mog The Almighty

backrow wrote: Wed Oct 28, 2020 12:42 pm Probably for the best you don’t want kids
:lol: I was anticipating that response. I'm not sure I don't want kids. Maybe one would be fun. Kind of like a pet dog that talks.
danny_fitz

Post by danny_fitz »